Dos And Don’ts Of Clothing Alterations

Hi all……After all the blues I and my friends suffered at the hands of tailors and alteration people, I decided to do something about it. I decided to do some research regarding dos and don’ts about tailoring and especially clothing alterations.

 

I read stuff online, in fashion magazines and talked to the experts. Hey, I almost felt like fashion journalist! Not a bad feeling at all. After all we will be wearing clothes all our lives. And may be I can give it a go as career option (fashion journalist bit, silly). Any ways I reached some pretty interesting solutions to the clothing alteration blues. Here they are for all of you to read and add to it:

 

  • Whatever else you do; never cut a dress!
  • Try not to unstitch a finished garment. It will be very difficult to re-stitch them.
  • Thread type should be according to the fabric type.
  • Different fabrics react differently to the alterations, so before actual alteration, understand the type of fabric: muslin or knitted, or woven……whatever.
  • Follow the manufacturers’ direction regarding construction of the garment to minimize the human error.
  • Confirm the accuracy of measurements by matching a well fitting dress to the one in need of adjustments.

Hey guys, plz gimme feedback whether my observations regarding dress alterations are correct, and do add your bits. To start with, visit alterations.com. Take my word; its awesome.

Leave a comment